Bernard LEROY

Director

INTERNATIONAL INSTITUTE OF RESEARCH AGAINST COUNTERFEIT MEDICINES - IRACM

France

Bernard Leroy is the Director of the International Institute of Research Against Counterfeit Medicines (IRACM) which is developing action to deepen understanding of the phenomenon of counterfeited medicinal products, advise governments on their strategies and link all stakeholders
Bernard Leroy is a Magistrate who devoted most of his career into the fight against drugs nationally and internationally.
An investigating judge who specialized in drug trafficking from 1979 to 1988, he then was Advisor to the French Interdepartmental Mission for the Fight against Drugs and Drug Addiction (MILT) from 1988 to 1990. From 1990 to 2010 he was the Head of the UN Program of Legal Co-operation for helping countries to define their anti-drug strategy and improve their legislation.
Afterward, he was Prosecuting attorney at the Court of Appeal of Versailles, head of the Criminal Divisions (2010-2013) and Coordinator of the policy of the district prosecutors (Nanterre, Pontoise, Versailles and Chartres) against drug trafficking and money laundering.
In 2015, he was elected, by the United Nations Economic and Social Council – ECOSOC, Member of the International Narcotics Control Board – INCB which oversees compliance with international treaties by nations.

Watch replays

CHAM 2020

Overcoming crimes linked to healthcare products

Cham Talk 13 October 2020, 18h00 - 19h00

Bernard LEROY

Directeur

IRACM

France

Bernard Leroy est directeur de l’Institut International de Recherche Anti-contrefaçon de médicaments (IRACM) qui développe une action pour approfondir la connaissance du phénomène des faux médicaments, conseiller les gouvernements dans leurs stratégies et mailler toutes les parties prenantes.

A l’origine, Bernard Leroy est un magistrat qui a consacré l’essentiel de sa carrière à la lutte contre la drogue au niveau national et international.

Juge d’instruction spécialisé dans le trafic de stupéfiants (1979-1988), il a été ensuite conseiller à la MILT, coordination nationale interministérielle (1988-1990) avant de devenir responsable du Programme d’assistance juridique des Nations unies chargé d’aider les états à définir leur stratégie anti-drogue et à améliorer leurs législations (1990-2010).

Par la suite, il a été Avocat Général à la cour d’appel de Versailles, responsable des chambres pénales (2010-2013) et coordonnateur de la politique des procureurs du ressort (Nanterre, Pontoise, Versailles et Chartres) en matière de lutte contre le trafic de stupéfiants et le blanchiment.

En 2015, il a été élu par l’ECOSOC (Conseil Economique et Social des Nations Unies) membre de l’Organe International de Contrôle des Stupéfiants (OICS) qui veille au respect des traités internationaux par les Etats.